Monday, 14 March 2011

Bacon and ham- not always gluten free

I listened to BBC Radio 4's Food Programme today.  It was about artisan charcuterie production in the UK. I was startled to hear one of the contributors talking about soaking pork in beer as part of the curing process.  It had simply never occurred to me that a curing liquid would have gluten in it.

So, check the labels of course, but also if you are buying artisan meats be very specific in asking about the curing liquid and remind the shop-keeper that beer is full of gluten.

1 comment:

  1. I never thought to check the labels on bacon. I must start from now on. Thanks


I reserve the right to edit or not publish comments